Facial Excercise – Surgery Free Anti Aging System

Facial Exercise
Facial Exercise

Aging is no fun for anyone.  We live in a society obsessed by looks, and while I definitely think that there is more to life that what you see in the mirror, I’m all for taking care of yourself and doing what you can to waltz gracefully along through the passage of time.

I’m quite into cosmetics and skin care, so I’ve always taken very good care of my skin.  I eat a vegan/vegetarian diet,  exercise daily and avoid the sun where I can and always wear sun screen.    Still, at age 32, I have started to notice subtle changes in my face that galvanized me into action.  I wanted to see if there is anything more I can do to keep what I have and look the very best I can without surgical intervention.

Facial Exercise
Facial Exercise

The solution I came across was simple and ridiculously affordable.  Lo and behold, exercise is the secret key  – isn’t it always?  I exercise my body to stay fit and healthy, but it never occurred to me to work out my face.   Why would it?  It’s not like you can stroll over to a facial exercising station at the gym, so most people  assume that they’re powerless to affect any sort of change in this area.  Those that think about it worry that excess movement in the face will result in wrinkles, so they steer clear, focusing instead on immobilizing their facial muscles with Botox – which atrophy’s the underlying muscles by the way.

To get the ball rolling, I ordered a facial exercising book on Amazon, with the best reader feedback:  a book called “Facercise” by Carol Maggio.  Inside she presents a series of 12 facial exercises that you are instructed to do twice  daily.   Exercising certain facial muscles plumps them up,  fills in hollow areas, improves skin tone and provides an overall lifted, more youthful appearance.

The Results

Here are my eyes before and after starting the program.  I was trying to figure out why it looks like I have less of a lid in the after photos, but I think it’s because my eyes are a more open in the after photo.  That’s how they rest naturally now when I relax, compared to their heavy lidded resting state before.   Take a look:

Facercise before and after
Facercise

I started off exercising my face with enthusiasm, but I found that it was hard to make the time to do it frequently, so I cut back to exercising in the mornings, doing only about 3 out of the 12 exercises in the evening and still achieved noticeable results.  I think the most noticeable change can be seen in my nose! (See below) It’s narrower and more lifted.

I didn’t set out thinking I was going to review this system – it was something I was going to do privately for myself, so when it first occurred to me to take photographs, I was already about 1.5-2 weeks into the program.  I took all my before photos then.   The after photos are about two months into the program.  I am not wearing makeup (aside from some clear lip gloss) in any of the photos.

I don’t have any good before pictures of my mouth to show you guys.  The ones I do have are blurry.  I notice that the corners of my mouth have turned up slightly compared to before and my lips are a little bit more full, but the changes aren’t dramatic.  I don’t notice them so much without makeup, but I do when I put lipstick on.

Facercise results

I wish the before angle was better in the above photo.  I didn’t think to take a side view of my eyes in the beginning.  I notice that the skin around the orbital ridge of my eye is tighter and more lifted.  The outside corner of my eye looks extended because the skin in this area has been lifted.  I think my eyes look more toned and awake, but I don’t blame you if you can’t see it in this last photo.  I notice a big difference when I put on my eye liner – you’ll have to take my word for it and just try it out for yourself.

What kind of changes can you realistically expect?

The premise of this system is that if you start early you can maintain your looks and significantly alter how you age over time.   The differences are subtle – especially if you have good skin to begin with –  but together as a whole they are enough to enhance your overall appearance, giving you control over how you age in the future.

The changes don’t seem significant initially, unless you’re taking photographs and recording your progress.  You might not think it’s working on you because you see your own face too often to be objective.  It is not on par with surgery, but it makes a big enough difference that you’ll wonder why you didn’t try this sooner.  I’m hooked!

Does the age you start the program matter?

If you’re significantly older, but still want the chance to make changes, don’t be discouraged.  This system is for everyone.  People of all ages rave about the results.  If you’re dedicated and willing to work at it you will see changes.  If you feel you need a serious overhaul you will have to commit to exercising your face twice a day, maybe doing a few targeted exercises three times a day, but it’s worth it.

You won’t look like you’re 20 again, and the results won’t be as dramatic as if you’d underwent surgery, but your appearance will be altered so that you look more refreshed, toned and awake.   You’ll also notice that your makeup goes on better  – especially around the eye and lip area.

Overall Changes

 

 

Facercise
Facercise

I debated over if I should include this last photo collage (see above).   These are the only photos where I’m wearing makeup.  In the bottom photo I have on foundation and in the top photo I have foundation, eyeliner  mascara and blush.   Arg!  Again – I’m sorry, but these photos were never designed to be shared.  I was doing this for my own records when I started.

It’s kind of useless to compare photos when the angles aren’t exactly the same. Ah well – take a look for yourselves and see what you think.  To help you focus only on the change in contours of my features I made everything black and white.  I am lucky to have pretty good skin tone to begin with, so I realize that the changes are hard to see,  but I notice a difference from the side.  My brows are pulled up higher, my cheek area has lifted, the corners of my mouth aren’t turned down (you can’t see a horizontal line at the corners in the after photos) and my eyes appear more open.  Overall, I think I look more awake.  I relaxed my face naturally for each photo and wasn’t trying to pull my eyes open more afterwards to take a better photo.

Conclusion

Facercise Book
Facercise Books

I really do think that this system is worth checking out.  The book is about $17.00 – you can probably find it cheaper at Amazon-  so it won’t break the bank.   There is a bit of a learning curve when you first start and it takes about a week before you can do all the exercises effortlessly, without referring back to the book each time.   It took me about 30 minutes to do all the exercises in the beginning , but when you get good at it you can do them in about 15 minutes or less.

  • I found the book on the left (see above) easier to learn from initially.  The new book (the one on the right) has slightly more complicated exercises, but they are probably more targeted and effective.  I’m glad I own both.

Are there any cons?

The only con I can think of about this system is that you have to keep it up.  Just like working out your body at the gym, if you stop exercising you begin to loose definition and muscle tone.   I stopped for about 4 days at one point and started to see a change in my eyelids.

Different people will notice different results during this process, depending on what you need to work on to begin with and what age you are when you start.   I have been doing the neck toning exercises, but my neck was toned to begin with, so nothing has happened in that area, aside from the line around my neck fading.   I keep doing them now because I look at it as maintenance.  I want to keep it looking the way it does well into the future.

There are more advanced exercises you can progress to, once you get good at the beginner ones, so maybe I’ll post new photos down the road, comparing my results once again.   If you decided that you’d like to give this system a whirl please take pictures!  Don’t put any makeup on and take photos from many different angles.  After a few months take photos from the same angles again and compare the two sets.  I really appreciated the difference this regimen has made, once I was able to see my before and after pictures side by side.  It has  motivating me to keep it up!

Enjoy.

P.S.  I purchased both these book with my own money and the views I express about the Facercise system are my own unbiased opinions.  I can not speak about other facial exercising systems because I have not tried them out yet.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. fatgirlwearingthin says:

    Since I’m within a different community of bloggers (weight loss/maintenance) it’s uncommon for me to have time to check out blogs in other genres but I’m really enjoying yours. Have been reading for months now (I know…a fellow blogger knows better than to be a lurker!) and just wanted you to know. I can see the most remarkable difference in the photos of your eyes. No heavy eyelids – something I am suffering with as I age. Great review.

    1. Wow, thanks for the encouraging remarks! Sometimes you wonder if anyone is finding the stuff you write useful, so it’s very gratifying to get feedback and to know that my words are reaching their intended audience. I would definitely encourage you to give this system a whirl and I’d love to hear about your results. 🙂

  2. Paulina Georgia says:

    Wow! The results are amazing. You look so fresh and ‘rejuvinated’ :). Great review! May I also ask what nose exercise you did, is it the one where you place your finger at the bottom of your nose and push down by drawing your lips down over your teeth? Sorry if I didnt explain well! 😀

    1. Yep, that’s the one. I find the nose one the easiest and I really like the results! 🙂

  3. Evelyn says:

    I bought the facercise book awhile back but I didn’t continue doing. I have ginormous cheeks it’s really frustrating. After reading your post I’m determined to try those again. 🙂

    1. Yes, it’s hard to stick to it at times. I kind of fell off the wagon too, but I really need to start doing it again. What I find helps is just working in 2-3 exercises a day if you’re not motivated. Just one sometimes is helpful when you’re low on motivation. I haven’t been wearing a lot of makeup lately, and I really noticed the benefits when I put on cosmetics. Maybe when I am back putting makeup on each day I will feel motivated enough to continue. The results are totally worth it, and it really helps one age gracefully, from what I have seen online.

  4. debber says:

    What a great article – thank you! I had the old, original book years ago when I really didn’t need it…but now I am older and need something specifically for my neck. Does the new book have neck exercises/anything new for the neck? Thanks, great blog.

    1. The new book has not left the neck area out. I find that the new book incorporates several different steps into each new exercise. Sometimes I find it annoying and prefer the simple, one step version of the original. It’s nice to have both so you can flip through them and kind of choose what you like best. I am glad you enjoyed the article!! 🙂

  5. Myrna says:

    Thank you, I was looking for a good review with the photos and I found yours 🙂 There really is a visible difference, especially in the eyes and lips. You looked beautiful before, now you are breathtakingly beautiful!

    1. Thank you Myrna! The exercises take time, and can feel tedious after a while, but they really do make a difference. You might not notice it, because the changes appear gradually, so definitely take some before photos. They will motivate you to keep at it!

  6. mr. honest says:

    This was awesome. I noticed basically the same things you did, I use the videos though

    1. Glad you enjoyed the post! Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

