Curlformers – Naturally Curly Hair

Curlformer

Curlformers

When you have naturally curly hair learning how to care for your curls with the right product and technique for your unique hair type is KEY.  It wasn’t until I was well into my 20′s that I stumbled across a curly hair salon and actually figured out how to work with my curls and make them look nice.

Ever since then I’ve been fascinated by curl enhancing tricks and tips.   I now enjoy wearing my hair out curly and usually it looks great,  but sometimes it just doesn’t feel like performing.  I’ll do my hair styling routine exactly the same each day but sometimes my curls turn out limp and undefined.  Bummer.  Having great hair sometimes feels like a gamble.

Wouldn’t it be awesome if you could guarantee that you’d have a perfect curl day?  How useful would such a boon be for special events when you simply must look your very best, or suffer the derision of your attractive peers.

Sadly my hair tends to look its best when I’m bumming around the house alone and its worst when I’m attending friends weddings.    If you’re in the same boat, then hold on to your seats kids.    Have I got the product for you.

Hook with a Curlformer on it, ready to go.

My new favorite hair taming tool is called Curlformers!  Instead of setting your hair on rollers you pull small sections through a bendy sheath (see above: they’re pink and yellow)  with the aid of a large grey plastic hook.  When you let the sheath go it rolls up like a ringlet and holds your hair in a perfect curl position until it dries.

curlformers

Sure, you look a bit like Sideshow Bob from The Simpsons while your hair dries,  but it’s a small price to pay for frizz tamed perfectly formed curly tresses.   Truth be told I actually find these kind of fun to walk around in.   I get a kick out of seeing my new colourful hairdo in the mirror!

 I began styling my hair when it was wet and then left my hair in the Curlformers for about two hours until it felt dry.   When I took out the Curlformers I had big loopy smooth (and frizz free) curls.  Within an hour or so the curls had loosened up a bit and my style looked more wavy.

The Styling Process

Here’s how my hair looked naturally when long after I had air dried it.  These results are not always  attainable for me though:

Here are the results I achieved with the Long and Extra Wide Curlformers:

Curlformers

Taking out the Curlformers

Here’s how my hair looked immediately after taking out the Long and Extra Wide Curlformers (I left a yellow one still in there):

Curlformer

Long and Extra Wide Curlformers

I find that these Curlformers tend to smooth and loosen up my natural 3A curls.  When I don’t put a lot of product in my hair I can run my fingers through them and achieve a wavy beachy hair type look.   I’m growing my hair out long again and I think this will be an excellent casual day to day style.

Here I am again after brushing out the curls just a tad with my fingers ( I still need some practice with these things, but you get the idea):

CurlformerWhat I love about Curlformers is that I don’t have any frizz afterwards!  When I let my curls do their thing naturally there is usually a halo of frizz at the top of my  head, especially if I use a diffuser in the winter to hasten along the drying process.   My curls came out frizz free and smooth with Curlformers.

Tip:  It takes a few tries to get the hang of using these things.  The first time I tried I got so mad I gave up after 10 minutes.  The second time I did better but kept getting my hair tangled up in the hook.  The third time I developed a technique and now get no hair caught at all.    Moral of the story is to keep at it!  They’re so worth the initial frustration.

Want to see how to apply Curlformers?  Check out this link.

Keep your hook in a vertical position!

What worked best for me is to remember to keep my hook in a vertical position (see above) when you hook your hair and pull it up through the Curlformer.  I messed up initially and did it at an angle and my hair didn’t pull through smoothly and got caught.

Factors that effect the type of curls you get with Curlformers

1.  How close you place the lip of the curl former against your scalp.  (Close = Shirley Temple curls that bounce when you walk.  About 2 or more inches away from scalp = looser more wearable curls.

For example, here is what they look like when they’re applied close to your scalp:

Curlformers

And here’s what they look like applied about 2 inches away from your scalp:

curlformers

2.  How much curl holding product (gel) you apply when you hair is wet.  Two teaspoon of gel resulted in loose waves for me.  Curls were easy to brush out and my natural curls were tamed down into a looser curl pattern.   Several palms full of curl keeper run evenly through my hair resulted in big bouncy curls that had a mind of their own.

3.  The type of Curlformers you use.  For this review I  used their Extra Wide version to smooth down my hair, loosten up my natural curl pattern and get a wavy sort of do.

4.   Your natural hair type.

5.  The way you apply your curl formers.  One color in a kit curls to the right, and the other color curls to the left.  You can apply then randomly all over your head to create more natural looking  curls, or you can put one color all over  the left side of your head and another color on the right which creates uniform, perfect, very “done” looking curls.

Curlformers randomy applied all over my head (the results can be seen in all  the pictures up above):

Curlformer

Applying one colour of curlformers to the left side, and another color to the right, creating a uniform curl pattern:

(These curlformers were applied close to my scalp for added curl this time.)

The resulting curls (before I brushed them out a bit):

Curlformers

(See how all the curls are twisting over to the left on this side?)

Front view of curls

Here’s a picture without flash:

Curlformers

In case it’s not obvious, I LOVE these things.  They are fun to use, are guaranteed to get some laughs from friends and family and they are an awesome tool for naturally curly haired girls who want to wrestle back control over their curls.  I give them two thumbs up!


Here’s where I bought my Curlformers from:   www.curlformers.com 

They can also be found here in Canada at Sally’s but they are more expensive to buy there.

Styling Kit

I recommend getting a styling kit to start off with.  You get enough curlformers in a box to do your whole head, a hook and a Holdall bag/box thingie to keep them in.

So, have you tried Curlformers in your hair yet?  What did you think of the results?  Any tips or tricks you’d care to share with me?  I purchased a set of marginally smaller  Curlformers too so if you’d like to see a review of them then let me know.

Disclaimer:  I purchased all these products with my own money!

Enjoy!

29 thoughts on “Curlformers – Naturally Curly Hair

  1. Pingback: Meghan shows how to care for naturally curly hair with Curlformers | Curlformers Curly Hair Blog

  2. I have mainly straight, slightly wavy hair normally. I used the long and wide curlformers, but I ended up with lots of tangles and frizz. I used some of this wet wrapping styling product, not gel. Is this why my results are so frizzy?? I must be doing something wrong, because every where I looked these things are rated very highly. Do you sleep in them, or just put them in during the day?

    • When I section off a piece of hair I make sure to run a comb through it quickly. This takes out any tangles before you wind the piece of hair through the curlformer. Also, when you pull the hooked hair through the curlformer is it going through smoothly? In the beginning, before I got the right angle down pat, my hair would snag up inside the curlformer. This was often because I took too big a piece of hair, didn’t twist it at the base before I hooked it, and/or because I was pulling the hook out towards the side instead of straight up at a vertical angle.

      I honestly never get frizz when using Curlformers. It’s similar to setting wet hair in rollers, they hold your hair in place so it all dries in place without strands floating away turning to frizz. A liquidy runny gel, like Curl Keeper, really helps hold everything together though. I tried setting one curl without any product on it and once I ran my hands through it it did get a little poofy. If you put a little bit of this gel in your palm and run it through your hair when it’s wet this might help hold your hair together better.

      No, I don’t sleep with my curlformers in my hair. It wouldn’t be comfortable and I don’t think I could fall asleep! It takes my hair about 2-3 hours to dry with these things in. If I’m in a rush I’ll sit under a hair dryer. I’ve seen some people online put their curlformers into DRY hair and put a heat cap over top (which infuses steam into the curls). They take the cap off after about 7 minutes and they have gorgeous curls. I haven’t done this myself so I can’t say how well this method works, but it’s another option to play around with. Good luck!

  3. I just bought a box of Curlformers and I have tried it today. Unluckily I used it when my hair is SO dry and leave it for like 10 mins. My hair just got back from it’s straight strand :( So maybe a damp hair would be effective.. did you use a mousse or setting lotion?

    • You definitely need to use Curlformers when your hair is wet. If I put these things in my hair dry, even with a little bit of hairspray or mousse…well…nothing would happen. Try them with your hair wet, give them time to dry and then see what happens. I recommend putting in a little runny gel (like Curl Keeper) when your hair is wet so the curl holds better. Let me know how it goes. Good luck!

  4. Love your post! I too have naturally curly hair (4a/b) and absolutely adore curl formers. About a year ago I decided to stop heat styling and to try my hand at wearing my natural curls. . . what an undertaking! After 8 months I promptly quit and picked my flat iron back up. In December on a whim I bought a pack of curl formers and I have been hooked ever since! I tell everyone about them and have been having massive hair “sessions” to show people what amazing things curl formers can do for their hair. Yay curls!

    • Yes! Another Curlformer fan. I really should do another blog post on these things. I have the medium and thin curl formers now so I can do a lot more with the collection I currently have. I am glad to hear that theses things seem to work well on so many different curl types. My mother has tighter curls than mine and I definitely want to try these out in her hair one of these days. Thanks for your note. :)

  5. I will try the curlformers, my curls are gone for using the instyler (got addict to it, faster than flat iron), but I am missing my curls and my hair need a brake from heat. Please, do some post with the thin one.Love your blog
    Thanx Megan

    • Will do. I am making a list of posts/reviews for the summer so I will be sure to make sure that I feature the narrowest set of curl formers (the blue and green ones, right?) Stay tuned!

  6. I am definitely buying these after reading your post. Still on the fence whether I should get the wide or the extra wide… After 2 keratin treatments that are supposed to last a month or so, my curls are gone, and it has been well over 6 months, and I never thought I’d say this, (since my hair has given me such a hard time since birth really) , but I miss my curls! So I guess I am gonna go with wide and extra long, since my hair is about 19 inches long now. Thanks again for sharing this with us.

    • No problem! I’m glad the post was helpful. I have had several people express an interest in seeing other sizes so I’m going to do another blog post in the future showing the small and medium size, but that won’t be a few weeks. I hope you enjoy them because they’re a lot of fun to play around with!

  7. How many inches long are the extra wide and long curlformers that you use? What’s the diameter? Thanks in advance! :)

    • Not sure. I like the large kits you can purchase from the company. They usually provide enough to cover your whole head of hair. I’d write to the company with your question as they’d be able to give you better advice. :)

  8. Great post! I was wondering, what is the diameter on the extra wide ones? I already have some thinner ones and don’t know if I should bother getting the extra wide ones, too. Thanks!

  9. Hi Meghan – love the results you got! I was just wondering how long you get out of each setting? Being curly-haired myself I know that what your hair looks like on the second day can be even more important than what it looks like on the first. Especially when you’re trying not to wash your hair too often to stop it drying out.

    Thanks.

    • Hey Lucy! My hair is too soft to get really good second day hair. I have done it only a few times. I prefer just to wash my hair and start again. I probably won’t not have the patience to use the curlformers every day though. Just when I want to experiment with a different look to my curls, or I want to avoid a bad hair day! :)

  10. OOhh…your curls look awesome…I am almost ready to keratinize my hair, I am so tired of the frizz…but maybe I should try curl them with curl formers first! Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

