Yellow Nail Polish – Zoya

I’m traveling overseas at the moment, but I’m still keeping up with my nail polish application.  Yellow seems to be quite popular at the moment albet frustratingly hard to wear.  Some yellow polish kind of creeps me out because it looks like you have stained old nails if you don’t find the correct shade.  It’s so fun and tropical when done right though so  I had to give it a whirl.

Winner!

In my quest to find a flattering shade of yellow I ordered three different polishes:  one from Illamasqua, OPI and Zoya.  I was disappointed by Illamasqua’s yellow polish because it looks exactly like processed cheese slices and is too warm a shade for me.

Meh. Processed cheese yellow

The OPI polish I ordered (Bannana Bandana) was to dull and sheer and made my nails just looked stained and awful.  The winner in terms of color was Zoya’s Pippa.

Zoya Pippa - photographed inside

What I liked most about this yellow color was that it was a bit cooler toned than all the others.  It has a slight white base to it compared to the other two and this helped it be a  more flattering on my hands.

Another inside photograph
Zoya Pippa - Photographed outside in direct sunlight
Zoya Pippa - Direct sunlight

Now, while I absolutely adored the eye catching sunny color, the formulation was a huge let down.  I found this polish really hard to apply, which was weird because all my Zoya polishes normally go on so flawlessly.  Pippa was really streaky and I had to apply about 4 coats to get an opaque finish.  I have a feeling though that this is kind of standard when yellow polishes are concerned.

It also didn’t last as long as I would have hoped for.  I started getting cracks at the sides of my nails and chips occurred after only a  day and a half.  Still, I change my nail polish so frequently that it’s not that big of a deal to me when we’re talking about a trendy shade I’ll wear infrequently.

If you’re looking for a vivacious lemony yellow then this could very well be what you’re after.  If you come across another brand that’s better forumulated then buy that first.  This was cheap  and for a trend that will probably have a short shelf life, I’m moderately satisfied with my purchase.  It’ll do for the time being.

So, what do you think of the yellow nail polish trend?  Have you found a flattering shade that you can wear?  If you’ve found a yellow that isn’t streaky and runny please let me know!

Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Paula says:

    you should always use a hand of white polish as a base to use on difficult colours like these! (whether they are streaky ones, sheer ones, crappy and cheaps ones XD) i suggest you try this out again! 😉

Leave a Reply

