Fruity Perfume Review – Miss Marissa Tropical

Miss Marissa Tropical

I’m a huge sweet fragrance fan and lately I’ve been searching for lighter fruity scents that I can enjoy over the upcoming Summer months.   I have been ordering perfume samples online from luckyscent.com, trying to get a feel for what works with my chemistry.

Today I have on a perfume oil from Ebba  called Miss Marissa Tropical.  They’re not kidding when they describe it as juicy.   I like to think of it more as a large fruit smoothie.   It makes my mouth water every time I move around and get a whiff of it.  Marissa Tropical reminds me of succulent meaty fruits – like yellow mango, red papaya and orange peach.  When I sit back and think about what I’m smelling an image comes to mind of someone  lounging on a beach with a light spray of coconut oil on their skin.  Just within reach is a platter of  sliced ripe fruit from the tropics.   There is a tangy breeze blowing up from the water that mingles with the dry sand and fruit juices keeping the aroma fresh and enticing.

Perfume sample vial - Miss Marissa Tropical

I find this scent fairly simple but hugely fun.  It starts off with a burst of lemony citrus which quickly morphs into something bright and fruity.   I can detect a hint of something dusty that surrounds the fruit but it’s very subtle.   Whiffs of suntan lotion also emerge and I presume it’s the coconut doing its thing.   This perfume wears very close to the skin and is in no way obnoxious or loud.  It’s gentle and skin hugging – perfect for hot days when you don’t want to wear anything thick and syrupy because it’s too hot.  I don’t find it lasts very long though and if I want it to be a bit more noticeable I have to keep reapplying  every few hours.  I’m curious to see if this will change when my skin is less dry and I’m in a warmer climate.

Despite it’s lack of longevity and projection, I really like this fragrance!  Maybe it’s my Caribbean background but the girly fruity sweetness this perfume projects really appeals to me.  It’s hard to be in a bad mood when wearing this.   Miss Marissa Tropical is like sipping on a fruit smoothie  as you skip down the beach.  Mmmmm.

Look - a vat of my perfume!

This works for me as I don’t like intense perfumes in general.    If you want your perfume to shout out loud and announce your presence when you walk into a room then you might want to pass on this one.   This is a private perfume for you alone.   It’s also not terribly sophisticated but I can imagine it wearing really well when I go away on vacation and just want to kick back and relax.

This gets a thumbs up from me.   My boyfriend sniffed my wrist and went: “Mmmm.  Nice.” and then proceeded to list several fruits he was detecting.  He is renowned for his fruit smoothie and Pina Colada making abilities so he is a bit of an expert when it comes to fruit concoctions.

Here are the official perfume notes:

mango, coconut, ginger, peach, waterlilly, casis

You can find this perfume online and order samples for yourselves from luckyscent.com and beautyhabit.com.  Miss Marisa Tropical oil retails for about $62.00 for 1/2 ounce.

Please let me know if you’ve tried this juicy little number.   How long does it last on your skin?  It’s always interesting to hear how perfumes react with different peoples chemistry so I’d love to get some differing opinions.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

